Entries Open for next round of National Geographic’s World Legacy Awards

Entries for the next round of National Geographic’s renowned World Legacy Awards are NOW OPEN!

The World Legacy Awards are an initiative of the National Geographic Society, one of the world’s largest and most prestigious nonprofit scientific, educational, and travel organizations reaching more than 450 million people worldwide. The World Legacy Awards honor the companies, organizations, and destinations that are driving the positive transformation of the tourism industry, showcasing leaders and visionaries in sustainable tourism best practices, and sharing their stories with millions of today’s travelers.

There are five award categories, based on the triple bottom line of sustainable tourism; including environmentally responsible operations, protection of natural and cultural heritage, and support for the well-being of local communities. The categories are:

  • Earth Changers
  • Sense of Place
  • Conserving the Natural World
  • Engaging with Communities
  • Destination Leadership

Each year, the winners will be announced at Internationale Tourismus-Börse Berlin (ITB Berling), the largest tourism trade fair in the world, in March 2016. The finalists are selected by a panel of international experts in the travel, tourism and related fields. They are then subject to a field evaluation, with one winner selected for each category. As part of the Winners and finalists will be acknowledged in National Geographic Traveler magazine and across other media by National Geographic, reaching millions travelers around the world. Ecotourism Australia Board member, Tony Charters, joins the panel of judges as an expert in the fields of destination development, sustainable management, and ecotourism.

Last year one of our own, Advanced Ecotourism certified Conservation Ecology Centre (Cape Otway, Victoria), made it right through to become a Finalist in the category for Conserving the Natural World – a highly commendable and well-deserved achievement.

The World Legacy Awards are a great opportunity to get your business achievements out there, gain international recognition in the global tourism industry, and showcase your commitment to sustainable tourism, environmental protection, and your community.

You can submit your application by August 1, 2015 at http://www.nationalgeographic.com/worldlegacyawards/apply.html

For more information, visit the National Geographic website, or contact them at: info@worldlegacyawards.com

(Picture: A Tiger Quoll photographed by Lucia Griggi at Conservation Ecology Centre)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s