New Chair for Ecotourism Australia

At the Ecotourism Australia Board Meeting held yesterday Mr. Rick Murray was elected as Chair, Mr. Michael Collins was elected as Deputy Chair and Mr. Peter Cochrane has joined the Board.

Rick Murray has been a Board member of Ecotourism Australia since 2007 and has been the long standing Deputy. He has been actively involved at the ‘coal face’ of nature based tourism for 28 years and has a detailed knowledge of the interaction between tourism and our natural and cultural heritage right across the north of the continent. His experience covers lands both within Protected Areas and other lands of the north such as Aboriginal Freehold lands and Pastoral Leases.

“Ecotourism Australia is now a major force with the current members generating over a $billion each and every year driving the regional economies all over Australia. I am honoured to play a role.” said Rick Murray.

Michael Collins has over 25 years’ experience in the Hospitality, Accommodation and Tourism sectors within Australia where he has successfully owned and or managed hotels, restaurants and pubs across Australia. He is currently the Western Australian Branch Manager of ATEC.

“I look forward to the challenge of my new role and will work hard to ensure Ecotourism Australia continues to build partnerships through strong and productive relationships with its members, partners and stakeholders” said Michael. Collins.

 Peter Cochrane headed Parks Australia, the Australian government’s national park agency for 14 years, initiating and developing key partnerships to deliver valued environmental, social and economic outcomes. Partnering with Tourism Australia he helped develop the National Landscapes initiative – regional collaborations to deliver world class visitor experiences, conservation outcomes, and regional and national benefits.

“I am delighted to have been offered, and to accept, the opportunity to contribute to the governance of this very important organisation.” Said Peter Cochrane on his appointment.

Rick Murray and the Board of Ecotourism Australia honoured the departing Chair, Mr. Cameron Kerr, for his exemplary leadership and commitment to Ecotourism Australia. Mr. Kerr has left the Board for family reasons.


Rod Hillman 0427 279 414

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s